Library website, referencing, and plagiarism.

Hey everyone! Just a quick post to share with you that the Open University library section of its website has had a bit of an overhaul by the looks of it.

This is the new equivalent of the section I most used to visit on the old site: Referencing and plagiarism. While references are very important in most assignments on most Open University courses, you must make sure that you reference them correctly. Otherwise, you can be in all kinds of trouble!

There’s another page on the OU website about how they respond to plagiarism. This is common to all universities; everyone in the academic world takes plagiarism very seriously.

I know referencing can be tedious and time-consuming. One of my favourite tools for referencing is Zotero, which is a Firefox plugin, and can also connect with Microsoft Office and OpenOffice.org. They’re developing applications and plugins for other platforms – I’ve just downloaded the standalone application for Mac OS X, so I’ll let you know how I get on with it!

Edit: Here’s me using the desktop version on Mac OS X! I’m using the Safari plugin to send page references from Safari into Zotero desktop version, and I’ve also added The Manager’s Good Study Guide using the ISBN wizard.

Zotero standalone version (Mac OS X)

Leave a comment